Ashtavakra Gita.

Thousands of years ago there was a king named Janaka. He had attained the highest position in a peaceful and prosperous society, with a vast knowledge of life. But even then he was restless and wanted to know more. One day an enlightened Master named Ashtavakra arrived at Janaka’s court. What unfolded, says H.H Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, was “the most unique conversation that has ever taken place on this planet.” The text of this interaction has been passed down for centuries as the Ashtavakra Gita.

The Ashtavakra Gita occurring in the Vana Parva of Mahabharata, is a profound enquiry into the nature of the Self and reality.  To avoid any wrong understanding  by the unprepared minds, it is traditionally recommended that  Ashtavakra Gita be pursued by only those who have practiced meditation and are already on the  spiritual path.


Chapter 1 (Instruction on Self Realization)

Chapter 2 (Joy of Self Realization)

Chapter 3 (Test of Self Realization)

Chapter 4 (Glorification of Self Realization)

Chapter 5 (Four ways to dissolve)

Chapter 6 (The higher knowledge)

Chapter 7 (Nature of Self Realisation)

Chapter 8 (Bondage and Liberation)

Chapter 9 (Detachment)

Chapter 10 (Quietutde)

Chapter 11 (Wisdom)

Chapter 12 (Abiding in the Self)

Chapter 13 (Happiness)

Chapter 14 (Tranquility)

Chapter 15 (Knowledge of the Self)

Chapter 16 (Special Instruction)

Chapter 17 (The True Knower)

Chapter 18 (Peace)

Chapter 19 (Repose in the Self)

Chapter 20 (Liberation in Life)




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *