Patanjali Yoga Sutra.

2.1  tapa svādhyāye ‘śvara praidhānāni kriyā yoga

Austerity, the study of sacred texts, and the dedication of action to God constitute the discipline of Mystic Union.

2.2 samādhi bhāvanārtha kleśa tanū karaārthaś ca

This discipline is practised for the purpose of acquiring fixity of mind on the Lord, free from all impurities and agitations, or on One’s Own Reality, and for attenuating the afflictions.

2.3 avidyā ‘smitā rāga dveā ‘bhiniveśā kleśā

The five afflictions are ignorance, egoism, attachment, aversion, and the desire to cling to life.

2.4 avidyā ketram uttareā prasupta tanu vicchinno ‘dārāa

Ignorance is the breeding place for all the others whether they are dormant or attenuated, partially overcome or fully operative.

2.5 anityā ‘śuci dukhā ‘nātmasu nitya śuci sukhā ‘tma khyātir avidyā

Ignorance is taking the non-eternal for the eternal, the impure for the pure, evil for good and non-self as self.

2.6 dg darśana-śaktyor ekātmatevā ‘smitā
Egoism is the identification of the power that knows with the instruments of knowing.

2.7 sukhā ‘nuśayī rāga

Attachment is that magnetic pattern which clusters in pleasure and pulls one towards such experience.

2.8 dukhā ‘nuśayī dvea

Aversion is the magnetic pattern which clusters in misery and pushes one from such experience.

2.9 svarasavāhī viduo ‘pi tathā ‘rūho ‘bhiniveśa

Flowing by its own energy, established even in the wise and in the foolish, is the unending desire for life.

2.10 te pratiprasava heyā sūk

These patterns when subtle may be removed by developing their contraries.

2.11 dhyāna heyās tad vttaya

Their active afflictions are to be destroyed by meditation.

2.12 kleśa mūla karmā ‘śayo dṛṣṭā ‘dṛṣṭa janma vedanīya

The impressions of works have their roots in afflictions and arise as experience in the present and the future births.

2.13 sati mūle tad vipāko jāty āyur bhogā

When the root exists, its fruition is birth, life and experience.

2.14 te hlāda paritāpa phalā puyā ‘puya hetutvāt

They have pleasure or pain as their fruit, according as their cause be virtue or vice.

2.15 pariāma tāpa saskāra dukhair gua vtti virodhāc ca dukham eva sarva vivekina

All is misery to the wise because of the pains of change, anxiety, and purificatory acts.

2.16 heya dukham anāgata

The grief which has not yet come may be avoided.

2.17 draṣṭṛ dśyayo sayogo heya hetu

The cause of the avoidable is the superimposition of the external world onto the unseen world.

2.18 prakāśa kriyā sthiti śīla bhūte ‘ndriyātmaka bhogā ‘pavargārtha dśya

The experienced world consists of the elements and the senses in play. It is of the nature of cognition, activity and rest, and is for the purpose of experience and realization.

2.19 viśeā ‘viśea ligamātrā ‘ligāni guaparvāi  

The stages of the attributes effecting the experienced world are the specialized and the unspecialized, the differentiated and the undifferentiated.

2.20 draṣṭā dśimātra śuddho ‘pi pratyayā ‘nupaśya

The indweller is pure consciousness only, which though pure, sees through the mind and is identified by ego as being only the mind.

2.21 tad artha eva dśyasyā ‘tmā

The very existence of the seen is for the sake of the seer.

2.22  ktārtha prati naṣṭa apy anaṣṭa tad anya sādhāraatvāt

Although Creation is discerned as not real for the one who has achieved the goal, it is yet real in that Creation remains the common experience to others.

2.23 sva svāmi śaktyo svarūpopalabdhi hetu sayoga

The association of the seer with Creation is for the distinct recognition of the objective world, as well as for the recognition of the distinct nature of the seer.

2.24 tasya hetur avidyā

The cause of the association is ignorance.

2.25 tad abhāvāt sayogā ‘bhāvo hāna tad dśe kaivalya

Liberation of the seer is the result of the dissassociation of the seer and the seen, with the disappearance of ignorance.

2.26 viveka khyātir aviplavā hāno ‘pāya

The continuous practice of discrimination is the means of attaining liberation.

2.27 tasya saptadhā prānta bhūmi prajñā

Steady wisdom manifests in seven stages.


Patanjali Yoga Sutras Home : Chapter 1 | Chapter 2 | Chapter 3 | Chapter 4



One Response to “Patanjali Yoga Sutra – Chapter 2 (Part 1)”

  1. mizer

    I have been web surfing greater than 3 hours nowadays, nevertheless Irrrve never located just about any fascinating post such as your own. It can be lovely worth adequate to me. Personally, if perhaps many online marketers along with blog writers built ideal written content when you does, the web might be a great deal more valuable than before.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *